Journey of Faith- Part 2 (lost bag)

I don’t even know how to begin!!! This is one event that we will never forget, for the rest of our live! Right, take a drink, popcorn, and just sit back and LAUGH!

Yesterday(Sunday), we were packing some of our stuff to move to Jian’s place. After we have finished packing, we decided to take tube and then bus since we have 3 luggages with us. Some tube station has no lift or escalator, so the best way was bus. I have 1 big luggage and a handbag, Shern being a man, carried 2 luggages. I put my cards, housekey, Jian’s housekey, everything except my handphone and oyster card(travel card) into the handbag. 

We arrived at Liverpool street station, and went out to take a bus. Everything was going smoothly so far. The 135 bus came, and we board onto the bus with all the luggages. Since it was a Sunday, it was not packed at all, in fact, there were only 5 people on board. So we both took 2 seats each, everything was alright. 

The interesting part comes now! I thought we were going to stop at the next bus stop, Shern decided to stop at where the bus was stopping. I was sitting in front, he was sitting at the back. Shern told me to ring the bell, and get down. So I was in a hurry, the luggage was heavy, and I just don’t want to cause any delay to the bus driver, I quickly went off with the luggage of course. 20 metres later, I felt something was missing. MY GOODNESS!!!! Yes, you guessed it correctly, my HANDBAG!!!! I left my whole handbag in the BUS!!!!! HOW ON EARTH DID I MISS THAT!!!!!! 

We were carrying 3 luggages, so Shern decided to chase after the bus, but to no avail, the bus has long gone. It took me 3 mins to realise that my handbag was not with me! What now??? I’m the only that has both Jian’s key and house key. We were HOMELESS!!!! At that point, I don’t know whether to laugh or to cry. It was so frustrating and hilarious at the same time! I was helpless. So Shern quickly came out with a plan, to ask another 135 bus driver, where do they stop, maybe we could still retrieve it back. Bad news again, there’s no terminal around the area. They would normally continue driving to the next destination-Crossharbour. We were at North London, and Crossharbour is at South London. 

I could not do anything except to just watch over the luggages. Immediately I turn to God in prayer. I said a very short prayer ‘God, I really need your help, please help me to get back my bag. Or else we won’t have any place to sleep tonight! Amen.’ Some facts, generally, especially handbag, if you leave it somewhere, you will never ever get it back, true? What more in London, metropolitan city, with almost every international people you could possibly meet. Moreover I left it in a bus! Passengers coming in and out. BUT I was so adamant that we will get it back. I just have so much faith in my God, who beats all impossibility. I literally did not even thought about plan B, like where to stay, or who to contact. I just know we will get it back.

By this time, it was almost 7pm, almost 50 mins since I realise that my handbag was not with me. Shern finally had a number to contact, a bus driver was so kind enough to give him a number to the control room! He called straight to the control room, and a guy was trying his best to help, radio-ing the drivers to ask whether they receive any lost property. So far-no.

We could do nothing but to wait. We head back to Liverpool street station to find a place to eat and wait. With all the luggages we had, found a place to sit and eat-Mcdonald. Trust me, the thing that kills me the most was-waiting. Every possible thoughts came into my mind- ‘What if someone took it’. ‘What if the driver took it’. ‘What if, what if, what if…’ I just had to brushed it off, and just pray that someone will return it to me. 

20 mins past, suddenly there was a phone call. Shern quickly picked up, he stood up, asked me to stay where I am, and off he went, didn’t tell me what it was. At that point, I was smiling, I knew there was good news. 5 mins later, Shern came running with my HANDBAG!!!! We were just so happy to get it back, and we just hugged and laugh. A big smile on both of our face after 1 hour 30 mins of agony. We are not homeless anymore! He thanked the driver and the guy who helped out from the control room.

We started to walk, I asked Shern, how did the driver got it back. Shern said ‘he doesn’t even know how he got it! It was wrapped up in a plastic bag.’ Furthermore it was not the driver that we boarded a while ago. I checked my bag, everything was in tact. Someone must have handed it in. I thank God for retrieving my bag. I was just so thankful that we got the bag back, we have a home to go to, and God to watch over us.

Faith without action is dead. Having faith alone will not get my bag back, actions count too. What a way to walk the talk!  

 

Back to Home

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Andrew T
    Oct 29, 2012 @ 15:51:53

    Hi Guys – Cool Google is your friend – did a search for Shern Foo and bingo! Shern and Rachel! Its been a long time since you guys were over playing table tennis – I would love to catch up with you both. Got a lot to tell you – you just won’t beleive! There’s this place called Hillsong – know it? 🙂 All the best guys – God Bless you both!
    Andrew

    Reply

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 4,974 hits
Free Hit Counter