Cold and Wet Glasgow

Yeap, I went to Glasgow for the first time, because Shern was going on a business trip. So I decided to tag along, and at the same time, to find my cousin, Joseph Chew. Booked the flight and it was only 1 hour flight, thank God!!! ( I hate flying)

So we reached Glasgow about 10am, took a shuttle bus to the hotel and checked in. The hotel was right smack at the city centre, so it was very convenient for me to walk around. We stayed at Radisson Blu hotel, very nice actually. Shern went off to work straight away, while I had the luxury to chill out and check out the hotel…It was raining, and cold too!

Sms my cousin and we met up during dinner time. The restaurant itself was really beautiful but the food was so so. I had some salmon with coconut steam rice (sounds like nasi lemak to us!) While we were chatting and catching up, I realized that Scottish notes are completely different than the one we use in England. It’s the same value but it was different! (See the pic on right) So I decided to take a photo of me holding a Scottish £20 note, and my cousin holding a England £20 note. Moreover if you have a scottish notes, you can’t use it in England, they won’t accept it!!! But if you have England notes, you can use it in Scotland… I don’t understand the logic of this!!!

On the second day, my cousin was kind enough to take me around Glasgow. The weather has been good to me. Sunny and clear! It was certainly different, much quieter and the people are more friendly. They actually say thank you to the bus driver when they get down to their destination, something that I have not seen in London. The city comes alive during business time, but when it gets to about 9pm, it’s totally quiet, even at the city centre!

Manage to get into museum, Scottish University and just walking around. Some of the buildings are actually quite unique, can’t really remember the names. My cousin had to work on the next day, so didn’t manage to have dinner together. Shern and I decided to go to Jamie’s Italian restaurant. I ordered a burger and it was huge! After dinner, head back to hotel.

Third day came, and it was time for me to pack the bag and go to the airport. Said goodbye to Glasgow and landed in London about 7:30pm. I was glad to be back in London because the weather was a bit warmer, definitely warmer than Glasgow! I had a great time catching up with my cousin and also touring around Glasgow, definitely won’t be my last visit! Will be back soon, very soon!

 

Back to Home


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eve
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 04:48:30

    High 5 to hate flying. Wish can teleport

    Reply

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 4,974 hits
Free Hit Counter